PDA

View Full Version : Hi, just some questions

Yusuf
09-24-08, 05:22 PM
Hi everyone. I'm a sophomore in high school right now and am strongly interested in the military after college. I am looking into a few officer positions, like tank, infantry, or engineer officer. what i would like to know is what is life during active duty for these positions. if i were to be deployed, would i be close to combat with the NCOs? any info is appreciated! oh also, i've read that MOSs are not guaranteed, so what are my chances of getting what i want/?

thanks in advance!

Mikewebe
09-24-08, 05:28 PM
I believe in OCS the higher you score the better your chances of choosing your field. But I am not sure. As far as how close you are to your NCO's in combat is up to you. Your leadership style is what will dictate much of that.

rvillac2
09-24-08, 06:53 PM
MOS selection for officers is completely different than enlisted. Some officers get contracts for aviation and law, but the rest get theirs according to their performance at TBS.
Another thread on this forum explained that the class is ranked according to their performance and then split into thirds. The top officers in each third get their first choice of MOS and then the rest gets distributed according to other factors. This is to keep the distribution of talent even among the MOS's.

imajarhed
09-24-08, 10:53 PM
MOS selection for officers is completely different than enlisted. Some officers get contracts for aviation and law, but the rest get theirs according to their performance at TBS.
Another thread on this forum explained that the class is ranked according to their performance and then split into thirds. The top officers in each third get their first choice of MOS and then the rest gets distributed according to other factors. This is to keep the distribution of talent even among the MOS's.