PDA

View Full Version : How do you tactfully (read: peacefully) discuss joining the Marines to your parents?

Grisaille
09-21-08, 03:10 PM
I'm a frequent visitor although I just recently joined. This is my first post, and I need some help.

For years I've wanted to join and become a Marine. Perhaps I've had some sort of romantic idea of the responsibilities and honor that comes with the lifestyle. Perhaps it was because grandpa did his due diligence and stood enlisted for 20+ years. Whatever the case may be, it calls out for me. I feel I deep sense of longing. I want to be there. I want to be strong.

I graduated high school with honors, and instead of going to college, I decided to work full time. I knew I wanted to join. But before hand, I wanted to experience "life". I wanted to know the civilian trials and tribulations so I can better understand - and appreciate - what the core ideals of the Marine Corps truly meant. I worked crap jobs - a school janitor, NYC Department of Sanitation, construction, Starbucks, etc. I decided blue collar was enough for me. I eventually turned my interests and abilities to the true workforce. I became a Project Manager / Estimator for a commercial renovations company. The pay was good; the experience - even better. I mingled with the top of the top. I saw a side of New York City (and incidentally, corporate America) that few get the chance to do.