PDA

View Full Version : Marine Corps Infantry

PackardT
09-09-08, 01:27 AM
I talked to a recruiter today about going 0311 infantry even though I have a degree in electrical engineering, he said that it's ultimately my choice, even though the Corps has a need for trained engineers.

My question is, how accurate is this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msNBZ_9Grbg

as to the day to day life of an infantryman? If it turns out to be 'no combat action', I may as well become a POG.

Danger Kane
09-09-08, 01:43 AM
There are a couple inaccuracies with that video:

1.) You probably won't ever be sitting down on post.
2.) Or having that much fun.

Standing on post somewhere being bored out of your wits comes with the job. So what? I'd rather be bored most of the time in the infantry than all the time as a pogue.

Pete0331
09-09-08, 01:46 AM
I talked to a recruiter today about going 0311 infantry even though I have a degree in electrical engineering, he said that it's ultimately my choice, even though the Corps has a need for trained engineers.

as to the day to day life of an infantryman? If it turns out to be 'no combat action', I may as well become a POG.

LOL great video.

Yes, it is an accurate video in what happens on guard in Iraq, but it is only once piece of a myriad of missions that are tasked.

TroneS
09-09-08, 01:59 AM
What about like 0321? Does this only apply to 0311 or all 03's?

yellowwing
09-09-08, 02:06 AM
There are a couple inaccuracies with that video:

1.) You probably won't ever be sitting down on post.
2.) Or having that much fun.

Standing on post somewhere being bored out of your wits comes with the job. So what? I'd rather be bored most of the time in the infantry than all the time as a pogue.

It wasn't that boring! :nerd:

Your Recruiter is right, it is ultimately your choice!

Pete0331
09-09-08, 02:15 AM
What about like 0321? Does this only apply to 0311 or all 03's?