PDA

View Full Version : Turning The Iraq Tide, From The Bottom Up

thedrifter
09-08-08, 07:31 AM
Turning The Iraq Tide, From The Bottom Up
Sept. 7, 2008

(CBS) Who TRULY deserves the credit for the turnaround in the U.S. position in Iraq? It's a much-debated question, which our National Security Correspondent David Martin now addresses in this Sunday Journal:
The wealth and leisure of Newport, Rhode Island are about as far removed from Iraq as you can get.

Bing West lives here among the mega-yachts and mansions, yet it is Iraq which keeps drawing him back.

"I'm a writer," he told Martin. "I wanted to see for myself how this war was unfolding and at my age I had the opportunity to do it, and so I took the opportunity."

"But some people might say: 'Exactly, at your age, you're living the good life, why? Why do you need to do this?'" Martin asked.

"I think somebody should try to tell the story from the perspective of somebody who has fought an insurgency, who understands it," West said.

West was a Marine in Vietnam, and wrote a book about it, "The Village," which is now considered a classic work on counterinsurgency. But his exposure to what happens on a battlefield goes back further than that.

As a toddler he paraded not with a toy gun, but with a captured Japanese rifle.

"I was born during World War II and my uncles were Marines, and whenever they would come back from the islands, Iwo Jima and Okinawa and Guadacanal, my mother used to put me upstairs, playing with them, with the Marines. So to a large extent (laugh) I was raised by Marines!"

So when the U.S. invaded Iraq, West (left)went in with the Marines … shooting a video camera instead of a rifle.

"We were in the middle of the tank column, in a yellow SUV, with a close-up view - too close."

What he recorded was a grunt's eye view of the war, with all its implausibilities.

"We saw bizarre things, like this shepherd and his sheep walking in the middle of a firefight."