PDA

View Full Version : I want to be a Marine. But ive messed a few things up...

Aries41886
08-21-08, 03:05 AM
Ok, I'll start from the beginning here.
My Whole life I've wanted to Become law enforcement, and tried it
and in florida, since theres' a hiring freeze, the aspirating has
become near impossible. So through ages 18-22 I've tried to establish
a career somewhere, to no avail. I was a security officer until a few months
ago, and was laid off due to lack of work. Lost a house, 2 cars,
most of my belongings. I guess you could say I'm almost homeless.
Now, where I messed up. Throughout my life, I've tried Marijuana 4 times,
and Cocaine 2 times. The problem here, is that the fourth marijuana use
was recklessly recent; I'm talking to a recruiter, and don't know if I
should tell them about the recent use, and see if they will work with me
while i get myself into shape, Or If I should conceal it and try my luck.
I don't want to lie, I am very ashamed of it. I would like to come
clean with everything. It was inexcuseable, thoughtless, and may of very
well ruined any chance i ever had at being a Marine, the way I feel about it.
I just want to know : Is there any way I can salvage myself? Will a Recruiter
just throw me away if i tell them about this?
I haven't touched anything since the recent use, which was a few weeks
ago. I'm PTing myself and trying to get in shape to lessen my time in
MEPS, that is if I make it that far.

JordanB
08-21-08, 03:21 AM
No you can still get waivers for that stuff, dont worry about it. If you did drugs in the past (even the past month) just stop now clear it with your recruiter and wait atleast a month before trying to go to meps. And dont try to be joining my Corps because you want to be a cop but got turned down, your reasons for considering the Marines better be better than that.

Aries41886
08-21-08, 03:31 AM