PDA

View Full Version : Pacific Spotlight: Marine 1st Sgt. Charles Hutto

thedrifter
07-14-08, 07:52 AM
Pacific Spotlight: Marine 1st Sgt. Charles Hutto

Stars and Stripes
Pacific edition, Monday, July 14, 2008

Charles, the first thing someone notices about you is that you are bald. Is that a choice or genetically determined?

I choose that. Haircuts are very expensive.

Especially at Marine Corps standards!

When I was a drill instructor I had to get two haircuts a week. They cost between $6 and $11. I have been shaving it bald the last five years, but prior to that, I cut my own hair for 13 out of the 16 years I’ve been in the Marines. I figure I have saved myself somewhere in the neighborhood of $19,000. I’ll be bald any day to save that kind of money.

What award or honor are you most proud of?

The first thing that comes to mind is an Outstanding Volunteer Service Award I received in Vista, Calif., for teaching free karate lessons to underprivileged kids. It’s a good deal when you get youngsters excited about learning and asking you questions.

Being a first sergeant, what types of responsibilities are on your shoulders?

I do everything from awards to disciplinary action; I take care of pay, home problems and a whole gamut of things. I have the largest company in the battalion, with 255 Marines and sailors. We have almost 100 more people than other companies around us, but we have double the awards and the least amount of incidents.

And you put on "Friday Night Fights" as a way to deter weekend carousing, right?

We were here two months, and we had a couple drinking incidents, and we ... pitched to the colonel the Friday Night Fights, where every Friday night on the softball field at 1900 we would put on some entertainment by giving the Marines who have differences with each other an opportunity to sign up and duke it out in a controlled environment.

Is hitting Marines really more popular than hitting the bars?