PDA

View Full Version : Marine Veterans in Law Enforcement

prcuffs
05-15-08, 12:28 AM
As a Marine Veteran, I take great pride in my past and the lessons learned while in active duty. Today, as a Lieutenant in a large Law Enforcement Agency in California, I can't help but beam with pride in the discipline and character shown by fellow veterans (regardless of branch of service) versus that of some of my fellow law enforcement officers who never served in the military.

I have had the extreme privilage of working with fellow Marines and have seen them react with total professionalism and courage in moments which would make others loose their cool.

Another difference I have noticed is how we (veterans) chose our profession and made it into an extension of our primary goal while in service in the Armed Forces, to serve our country. Now, the younger generation seems to take a position in law enforcement with "the old mighty dollar" as a motivator.

As I look around, I see our veterans taking orders or completing tasks with minimum to no questions asked..those who have not served, seem to lack the discipline at time and must be told the "why" before they even begin to take action, or won't do it unless they know the "what's in it for me" factor.

Am I the only one who feel this way or am I seeing things in with a jaded eye?

Big Jim
05-15-08, 03:00 AM
As a Marine Veteran, I take great pride in my past and the lessons learned while in active duty. Today, as a Lieutenant in a large Law Enforcement Agency in California, I can't help but beam with pride in the discipline and character shown by fellow veterans (regardless of branch of service) versus that of some of my fellow law enforcement officers who never served in the military.

I have had the extreme privilage of working with fellow Marines and have seen them react with total professionalism and courage in moments which would make others loose their cool.