PDA

View Full Version : Advanced Promotions from Boot Camp

Future93
05-11-08, 02:50 PM
I know there are many ways to get advanced promotions from boot camp and I was wondering from Marines that got that promotion is it really that big of a difference to be a PFC from Boot Camp instead of a PVT? Besides that it is a higher rank do you get anything else from it? I am asking because I am at military school now and it has JROTC, this is my first year and you need 2 years for the promotion, I might not be going back to this school because of family things and I was wondering if I should go back one more year to get the 2 years or if it is not really worth it.I am not really all that concerned if I can get it or not, I just want to be a Marine, that is most important to me.
Thanks,
James Hinman

Donut Brigade
05-11-08, 02:52 PM
You earn more moneeez, and you advance higher and become an NCO earlier, which is good.

Future93
05-11-08, 02:53 PM
So you think it is probably woth getting the promotion if I can?

Wyoming
05-11-08, 03:00 PM
Dave Blay, our resident expert on promotions, along with others, will be more than willing to assist you in your SEARCH.

All you gotta do is wait around for them to answer.

Oh, yeah, being 15, concentrate of life for a while.

englishm2265
05-11-08, 03:03 PM
So you think it is probably woth getting the promotion if I can?

There really isn't too big of a difference between Pvt. and PFC to be honest. A bit more money, but it still translates to nothing huge. And being that JROTC could get you advanced rank, you should go for LCpl. Good luck with that :)

JoeInVille
05-11-08, 03:24 PM
In my case (of course im not worrying about it now) its not a huge deal to me because I plan on doing PLC during college after my 4 years. It is quite a bit more money, I believe Pvt to PLC is a 700 dollar difference or something per month.

Darrell B
05-11-08, 03:48 PM