PDA

View Full Version : A quick intro.

JSam
05-05-08, 08:35 PM
Hello, fellow Wannabes, Poolees, and Marines,
I don't think I've taken the time to properly introduce myself.

I'm JSam.
I'm seventeen years old, and I live near Atlanta, GA.

I've wanted to be a marine since I was 10, and (forgive me) I want to become a sniper. I know how you guys are about wannabe snipers and Recons, but (I'm sure you've heard this before) I'm not like them.

I've been training hard for the past two years. My endurance is exceptional for my age, and I've studied up on a lot of the Corps history. My PFT score is 300 on a good day (my pullups vary but I can usually pull off a good 20).

I push myself hard, and I have strong morals codes and motivation.

I do have a slight problem, however-- I'm homeschooled. And being homeschooled, that makes me a Tier 2.
I went to talk to a recruited about a month ago, and he wanted me to take a semester of college to become a Tier 1. He wouldn't even entertain the thought of me being a Tier 1. He wasn't in uniform in the Recruiting Station, he was wearing jeans and a t-shirt.

Any suggestions for maybe a recruiter change, or other thoughts?

Marines, thank you for your service, I am eternally grateful for all you have done, and still do. :flag:

Sincerily,

Jared.

Donut Brigade
05-05-08, 08:43 PM
Recruiters can wear whatever they please if they are not out in malls or schools. Chances are you will see him in dress blues next time you come in.

About 6 months ago, I wanted to join the Army and become a sniper, too. Thank God we overcome these stages in life.

JSam
05-05-08, 08:47 PM
It was a recruiting station in a mall.
I've NEVER seen him in dress blues and I pass by there all the time.
Another Marine in the station is ALWAYS in his blues, but never this guy.

When I entered the room, he looked up and sat there, then looked down again.
My mom was with me, and he sat there and didn't acknowledge us at all.