PDA

View Full Version : Voting at boot camp?

pistolwhip88
04-27-08, 08:23 AM
First off I want to say thanks to all the Marines. Second I go to MEPS in a couple of weeks I plan on joining the MARINES and I am possitive my physical will be fine. My Recruiter is telling me that I can be shipped off to MCRD San Diego as soon as middle of September and I was wondering due to the election comming up will I have a chance to vote? Also I have decided I want to go Infantry is that MOS hard to get? Im thinking this is a stupid question but I would just like some feed back. Thanks.

sparkie
04-27-08, 08:29 AM
Vote early absentee, Go to your registrars office. Being prepaired is more than a Boy Scout thing.....

pistolwhip88
04-27-08, 08:30 AM
OK Awesome thanks a lot since this is my first year voting I was not sure on how all that worked out.

SGT7477
04-27-08, 08:31 AM
It depends where the Corps needs you at the time when I was in infantry was easy to get in to but wait there was many contracts broken so 95% of the platoon went into infantry,lol.

pistolwhip88
04-27-08, 08:46 AM
ok awesome, I took the asvab and made a 86 my recruiter was pushing me to try and do somthing different he told me he could possibly get me a bonus if i go into I believe it is called "data systems" but I dont give a S*** about a bonus, My Uncle was in Vietnam and my Grandfather was in WW2. I just want to see some "action" dispite what my "friends" say. I got this qoute from my friends dad who was in the Air Force "If you want to sign your own death cirtificate join the Marines" I just smilled and nodded. This is the same guy that got Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in the Air Force yet never saw any combat ( I sh*t you not).

sparkie
04-27-08, 08:59 AM
So you wanna see some action? Rent a movie. Plenty of younguns like you wanna see action, till they see it.
Case in point

http://www.leatherneck.com/forums/showthread.php?p=344743#post344743

Smitty Puffs
04-27-08, 11:21 AM