PDA

View Full Version : Swim qual PI 1978 and now?

Eric Hood
04-11-08, 09:16 AM
Hey my fellow Leathernecks!
How has swim qual changed in the last 30 years? I don't remember swimming in utilities, as they do now. How come is the drown proof training in the FMF with helos? I read about this in "Four in The Corps"( I wrote the author, he must have broke his hand. Did'nt write back)
OHH-RAH,
Eric:iwo:

DevilDogJAL
04-11-08, 10:17 AM
I graduated August of last year...we had to do a few exercises across the pool in combat gear, then we had to float using our blouses. That's just for the first qual. I don't really remember what you had to do in the others.

Eric Hood
04-11-08, 10:24 AM
Thanks.
I watche the three hour show on the Discovery Channel. I don't remember it, maybe we did swim with mock up rifles and helmets. It looked harder, than what I did. I was only in the second catergory--WS-2? and was mad!! I have always been a good swimmer. Are you still on active duty? Do you practice MCMAP?
Semper Fi,
Eric:usmc:

DevilDogJAL
04-11-08, 10:26 AM
Thanks.
I watche the three hour show on the Discovery Channel. I don't remember it, maybe we did swim with mock up rifles and helmets. It looked harder, than what I did. I was only in the second catergory--WS-2? and was mad!! I have always been a good swimmer. Are you still on active duty? Do you practice MCMAP?
Semper Fi,
Eric:usmc:

I'm a reservist in Alabama. I'm actually wanting to advance in MCMAP but I can't find anyone around here who teaches it. I was ****ed at boot camp as well....I was one exercise away from W-2 and I got a cramp and they made me get out. I wanted to just wade there for a second until it went away but they wouldn't let me.

Twitchell
04-11-08, 02:22 PM
I watche the three hour show on the Discovery Channel. I don't remember it, maybe we did swim with mock up rifles and helmets.