PDA

View Full Version : One Recruit's Parent's Journey

Syzygyone
03-30-08, 11:18 PM
Our recruit shipped out at 1500 today, 30 MAR 08, to MEPS and will arrive at MCRD SD at O-dark thirty Tuesday 1 Apr 08. So he will start his Marine Corps career on April Fool's Day!

He was lucky and got his 02XX MOS contract and was able to get an early ship date. He was only in DEP for about 6 weeks. He's not shown much concern over the last month, attending a few Poolee events, but mostly just tieing up loose ends and seemingly endless partying with friends. We'd discussed Boot camp and he was somewhat astonished to realize that having gone through Naval Aviation Training in the early 1980's I had been "Marine Drilled, Navy Tough." Maybe not exactly like Boot Camp but close enough for government work. I remember being totally amazed as I went through the experience, marveling at how they had it all figured out. When to push, when to push harder, when to give the carrot. I was a 26 year old lawyer but I, like everyone else, was quickly only interested in pleasing the DI and didn't realize until later that in pleasing the D.I. I was actually just learning what they wanted us to do, and then did it.