PDA

View Full Version : Foreign Recruits

Tobester
03-21-08, 06:59 PM
Good evening Leatherneck members

My name is Mark and I am from Canada. I have been speaking with my recruiters now for over 7 months. We tried nearly everything. I-551 Petition, green card, even myself being "indian" wouldn't work. I am determined to get into the Corps.

But anyway, I found something called an I-140 Petition for Alien Worker, has anyone heard of that? Does anyone know if it has been used to recruit a Foreign National?

Thanks for your time, looking forward to reading your reply's :thumbup:

Brandon1
03-21-08, 07:12 PM
Why dont you just move to the United States and become a citizen?

Hologram
03-21-08, 07:19 PM
Or just become a citizen. I don't think it necessarily has to involve moving here.

Zulu 36
03-21-08, 07:26 PM
Nope, no foreign worker program for the military. You have to be at least a resident alien (green card holder) and that means living in the US.

For Brandon1: moving here and becoming a citizen isn't that simple. He'd have to be a resident alien for at least five years, pass the background and written exam. OR, the time frame speeds up if serving in the US military. I think it drops to three years (not sure of exact time frame). Either way, Toebster has to become a resident alien first.

awbrown1462
03-21-08, 07:28 PM
Maybe I am old but knew alot of Marines from Canada even My couisn-in-law

Tobester
03-21-08, 07:30 PM
Looks like I am moving to the States.
--Got some major planning to do :marine:

Brandon1
03-21-08, 07:37 PM
I know it's no easy task moving here, but I thought I would keep it a short and simple answer :)

SGT7477
03-21-08, 07:44 PM
Looks like I am moving to the States.
--Got some major planning to do :marine: