PDA

View Full Version : Will Our Veterans Get Absolute Justice?

thedrifter
02-26-08, 06:56 AM
Gayle K. Hamilton: Will Our Veterans Get Absolute Justice?
February 26, 2008

I am a veteran of World War II, a combat Marine in the Pacific islands, and our numbers grow smaller each day.

I have been in the foxhole. I know that believers and atheists pray for help in extreme emergency. Our true heroes died far from home, making the ultimate sacrifice to provide freedom for their families.

Why was I allowed to live so long while others have died? Maybe God left me here to speak these very words, to ask you what should be done to honor our veterans and give them absolute justice?

I watch each day with knowledge as American soldiers, sailors, Marines and airmen return dead or so wounded they will never be productive members of society. Will we do absolute justice by them and provide for their needs?

This is not a new issue. Since Pericles fought Sparta to bring it again under control of the democracy of Athens in 400 B.C. and Lincoln fought to preserve the United States some 2,500 years later, there are some striking parallels. In the ensuing battles, thousands were killed on both sides and had to be buried. In each case both sides spoke the same language, read the same books, prayed to the same gods, came from the same families but were required to fight one another. Thus it fell to Pericles and Lincoln to hold a public ceremony to honor the dead.

Each leader had to have bedrock principles, with a solid foundation of beliefs that do not change, as statesmen do not transform principles to satisfy public opinion polls — that is, principles based on democracy.