PDA

View Full Version : NCO Creed

MarineNCO
02-05-08, 01:50 PM
My Corporal and I were talking today about the NCO Creed. The versions were totally different. I was wondering if anyone here knew the "official" Marine NCO Creed. The two different versions are as...

Ed Palmer
02-05-08, 03:56 PM
U.S. Marine Corps: NCO and Staff NCO Creed <br />
NCO (Non-Commissioned Officer) CREED I am the backbone of the United States Marine Corps, I am a Marine Non-Commissioned Officer. <br />
I serve as part of the...

hrscowboy
02-05-08, 04:25 PM
yelp i remember it well (Don't Mess with an NCO) stay clear of them..

MarineNCO
02-06-08, 06:09 AM
So when did the NCO Creed change? The one I learned is totally different than the one my Cpl learned.

erased
04-30-08, 02:11 AM
I know this is an old thread, but I don't feel it is resolved. Many people think the shorter version is the official version. My Sgt and I had this discussion this morning. He said the "backbone" version is just one "some people made up". Is there something on paper to clear this up?

MarineNCO
04-30-08, 05:03 AM
To be honest I had forgot about this thread. I would still like to see the official version if there is one.

erased
04-30-08, 09:47 AM
I did a search on USMC.mil and found stories citing both versions as the official one. It has to be set in stone somewhere.

Petz
04-30-08, 04:21 PM
yeah it's the second one, it changes last september some time... I got it when I was in Hawaii on RCT orders.

SSgtOfMarines
04-30-08, 05:21 PM
The second one is the one that is being taught at Corporal's and Sergeant's course. It is also the one that is being handed out with the promotion warrants.

erased
05-01-08, 12:24 AM
The second one being the "backbone" one? I've heard the other one is being taught at Cpl's course and I've heard it on warrants too. I can't close the book on this one yet, but thanks for your input.

Petz
05-01-08, 09:01 PM