PDA

View Full Version : 0203 Ground Intel questions

SgtRamey
01-29-08, 10:21 PM
Gents,

I'm prior service and am looking into running over to the officer side. As far as my MOS selection I have been focusing most of my research into the Ground Intel MOS 0203. I have the basics about schools and possible commands that 0203's head to but I wanted to get more info on the perticulars. I want an MOS that I can be on the ground with marines, I just read that the 0203 mission is more of an office job. Got any insight? Who knows anything about this MOS? Along with Ground Intel I am loking into Tanks/AAV, Infantry, MP and maybe Engineer (I am currently an Engineer though) If you guys can help please lend a hand, Thanks.

Sgt Leprechaun
01-30-08, 06:30 AM
Anything Intel related as far as what the job entails 'nitty gritty' is pretty much classified. However, as an officer, you don't get to pick your MOS. It's basically done for you at TBS based on your class standing, needs of the Corps, etc. If the Corps needs 25 supply or admin types, and your class is 35 Marine officers, then the bottom 25 folks are gonna be supply/admin no matter what their choices were. Something you need to be aware of if you are going the officer route.

Accord
01-30-08, 08:49 AM
Definitely not more of an office job, platoon commanders for STA Plt are normally intel officers and if you know what that entails it's anything but an office job. However the odds of becoming an intel officer and then getting into a STA platoon are so remote that you shouldn't even factor it into your decision.

SgtRamey
01-30-08, 07:13 PM