View Full Version : 8 decades of service honored

thedrifter
12-13-07, 09:05 AM
Article published Dec 13, 2007
8 decades of service honored
Red Cross volunteer surprised with diamond, gold and ruby pin, ceremony
By CATHARINE HADLEY
Staff writer

Helen Hutt became a Red Cross volunteer when she began teaching children to swim as a 14-year-old high school student in Elyria.

Wednesday evening, 80 years later, she walked into the Magruder Hospital conference room evening for what she thought would be the Ottawa County district's advisory board meeting.

Hutt was greeted by a standing ovation from about 70 friends, fellow volunteers, local dignitaries and officials from the Red Cross, including a representative from the national office.

Donald B. Dudley Jr., a senior vice president of the Red Cross, came from Washington, D.C. to honor her.

"I've worked for the Red Cross for 33 years, and I've never done this before," he said before he gave Hutt a diamond, gold and ruby pin to commemorate her years with the organization.

After the event, Dudley said Hutt is one of a handful of the organization's 1.1 million volunteers who have received the pin.

"Over the past five years, we've had four requests for 80-year-pins," he said. "What would the community be like if there were no one like that? If, all of a sudden, there were no volunteers?"

The crowd cheered when Ottawa County Commissioner Jim Sass announced he and his fellow commissioners had proclaimed Dec. 12 "Helen Hutt Day" in the county.

Commissioner Carl Koebel relayed a message from State Rep. Chris Redfern, who was unable to attend the event. Hutt received special recognition from the state house, and Redfern called her "one of Ohio's finest."

Port Clinton Mayor Tom Brown told the crowd when he worked as a school guidance counselor, he was afraid to give blood. Hutt made him sign an affidavit stating he would donate the next year.

"Since that time, I've given 51 pints of blood to the Red Cross," Brown said.