PDA

View Full Version : Drill Instructor guilty of abusing recruits

testforecho2112
11-14-07, 09:42 PM
http://www.cnn.com/2007/US/11/14/marine.instructor.ap/index.html <br />
<br />
SAN DIEGO, California (AP) -- A Marine boot camp drill instructor was convicted Wednesday of abusing recruits under his command. <br />

Big Jim
11-14-07, 10:14 PM
Is this it?!?! Is this all?! Yeah, he may have been abusive but how many good Marines has he turned out at the MCRD. In my opinion, I think the recruit just went crying to mama and she called the Senator and then heads started rolling. I was hit and beat in boot camp...yeah I was...as was alot of other recruits! I needed it and I thanked my DI's for it after I graduated! Just liike a bunch of other kids needed it...and I'm still here and I was a BETTER Marine and person for it!!! This is also how the "stress cards" were introduced and how this deteriorated our Marine ranks with selfish Marines and NCOs. I seen changes in the USMC before I got out, some good, some bad. Different generations of Marines can tell you the same that it wasn't like that when they were in...it was tougher...and what made us tough you ask? Our beloved Drill Instructors who taught us by the numbers and if we didn't learn, we paid for it with pain and sweat!! IT MADE US STRONGER!!!

Now, I'm not saying I'm for abusing anyone, especially a recruit but I'm not against Corporal or Capital punishment either. Its about firm, fair consistency and I believe when the politicians get involved with our beloved Corps...unfavorable policies start coming into play. Which means a domino effect that makes for lax rules and less strict enforcment and less cohesion of our comraderie and less intention to be a good and honest Marine. If the recruit couldn't hack boot camp...they should've sent his ass home!!!

Sorry....just came out!

greensideout
11-14-07, 10:15 PM