PDA

View Full Version : Possibility of MOS change due to injury?

Achped
11-01-07, 03:50 PM
Well, as alot of you know, I'm home on convalescent leave, and I'm a student at ITB. I have 2 stress fractures and metatarsalgia in my left foot. Its been a constant problem I've been experiencing since July, in boot camp. (And for the record, I did go to medical, and they did take x-rays, but the stress fractures were so small they didn't find them till after I graduated. Yes, I went through recruit training with 2 stress fractures in my foot. :thumbdown)

Well, I've been looking around, for a really long time trying to see what my options are, because I want to stay in the Corps. That's my #1 goal. I was reading on WebMD, and I came across these two statements.

"Any anatomical abnormalities -- like fallen arches -- can distribute stress unequally through the feet and legs. This raises the risk of stress fractures. So can poor-quality equipment, like worn-out running shoes.

Unfortunately, stress fractures tend to recur. About 60% of people who have a stress fracture have also had one previously."

Now, I have flat feet as well. They are, flat. Its not something I've been told by my mother, even the doctors at MEPS put it in my paperwork, but I didn't need a waiver or anything. They let people in with flat feet now.

I was wondering, alot of people who go through ITB, who get dropped for this exactly injury AFTER MOS breakdown (in essence completing "MCT" with ITB), get an MCT waiver, and get an MOS change. The thing is though, I didn't make it through even a few days of ITB, because they immediately saw I was limping and said "peace out, MRP".