PDA

View Full Version : Veterans face tough transition to college

thedrifter
09-28-07, 07:24 AM
Veterans face tough transition to college
By Bobby Caina Calvan - Bee Staff Writer
Published 12:00 am PDT Friday, September 28, 2007

Cody Conway, a combat Marine in Iraq, envisioned a lifelong career in the military. If not, perhaps a return to civilian life as a mechanic.

Four years ago, the Roseville enlisted man returned from war unexpectedly, his life and future shattered by a noncombat accident outside Baghdad that tore the muscles and tendons from his right arm and shoulder.

As a mechanic, he took things apart and put them neatly back together.

Repairing a shattered future hasn't been as easy.

"I want to move on with my life," Conway said Thursday between classes at Sierra College in Rocklin. "But I'm disabled, and I can't work. I've been a mechanic all my life. When I got back, I couldn't do that anymore."

For Conway and thousands of other war veterans, life after Iraq and Afghanistan has meant looking for new vocations and learning new skills as they struggle to put their lives back in order.

By the thousands, they are filling college classrooms across the country -- but few campuses, veterans and their advocates say, are adequately prepared to respond to the surge.

Colleges are bracing for a huge surge of military enrollees, reminiscent of post-World War II. More than 1.5 million Americans have served in Afghanistan or Iraq.

The college campus has become a new front line as veterans of the country's latest wars battle the bureaucracy at home to get the educational benefits they were promised from the military and confront what some perceive as stigmas of serving in an increasingly unpopular war.