I tried to square him away;
before he deployed to Iraq.
I tried to make the recruits understand;
I really have their back.

On graduation day I'll don my sword;
and send them marching on their way.
I might wonder how they're doing,
after they leave bootcamp.

I might even run into a few of them along the way.
Did I train them well enough?
What does their future hold?
I gave each of them 1000% of me,
in the hopes that they'd be quality Marines.

A new batch of recruits is coming sometime tomorrow night;
another group of young men;
I have to train to fight.
I'm going to my job;
a job I know that's right.

So when you're son comes home;
standing tall in his blues.
Rember someone trained him to look you eye to eye.
I'll fade back in the shadows;
A Marine Corps DI

Isrowei
09-26-07, 08:03 PM
I'm a drill instructor...

I'll spend up to 16 hours a day;
away from my wife and kids.
I may even end up divorced;
or lose one of my stripes.

Because one kid will report me;
for trying to set him straight.
He'll say I abused him;
and others will berate.

Yet if this recruit falls in battle;
it's me they'll often chide.
I should have done a better job;
Lord knows I tried.

I tried to square him away;
before he deployed to Iraq.
I tried to make the recruits understand;
I really have their back.

A nice romantic poem.. but that verse is hardly.. if ever.. the norm. In fact, it's so often not the case that it's almost ridiculous to mention it.

We'd love to see that every allegation turns out to be nothing but hokey crap dreamed up by a recruit. But that's not the case. Not by a long shot. Officers investigate EACH allegation. I've did 6 last cycle alone for other companies. Most were unsubstantiated (meaning the recruits were full of crap), but a few put a DI squarely at fault.