PDA

View Full Version : Question about running

brian21johansen
08-21-07, 09:11 AM
Does anybody know of any exercises I can do to strengthen my hamstrings? First off, I'm awful at running (1.5 miles in a little over 12 minutes). I've been running a lot for the last 2 months, eating right, and taking days off to recover but I'm still really bad at it. It's mostly my breathing-I try different styles but they don't seem to work. The next big factor is that my hamstrings and even my calves get really tired after running about half a mile. I think this might be the biggest reason why my running is awful (other than the fact that I might approach my running training the wrong way). If anybody has any tips or advice it would be greatly appreciated-my problem has nothing to do with stretching, I always stretch, especially my legs.

One more thing.....I'm not some lazy poolee who thinks everything should come to him easily; I've been an athlete all my life (mostly football) but have always been bad at running. I try to get better and ALWAYS put out but I think I need to find a better running program.

My results for the IST:
Crunches in two minutes: 94
Pull ups: 15 (overhand grip;very Strict form)

immaproshooter
08-21-07, 10:07 AM
control your breathing like breathe in on your left foot and out on your left foot type of thing......in through nose out through mouth....stretch your stride whiel running lean forward...... stretch your muscles out before AND AFTER you run......excercises are imprtant....also run mroe...through weight on use boots and sweat pants or something that way when you run in reg PT gear itll be soo much lighter for you...and youll be faster then with all taht stuff on and as far as the pain goes i get the same problem..jsut ignore it dont think about it and push yourself harder...

Billd
08-21-07, 11:53 AM