PDA

View Full Version : New recruit interested in MECEP

cytokin
08-06-07, 07:44 PM
I am/was planning on going into the Marine Corps and then going for MECEP. I found out today from a recruiter that my arm tattoos might keep me from becoming a Marine Corps officer. Could anyone let me know if they think my tattoos will be a problem? I'm 22 and I'm currently a Systems Engineer for a company in MD. I want to be a Marine more than anything.

http://a158.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/55/l_f131f8ffe5bdc9092957d6e199033525.jpg

I hope that it will not be a problem. If anyone can give me some advice I would appreciate it.

Thanks,

Anthony
cytokin@yahoo.com

Zulu 36
08-06-07, 08:23 PM
You need to complete your profile, then someone may answer your questions.

cytokin
08-06-07, 09:17 PM
Profile has been updated, thanks!

thewookie
08-06-07, 09:42 PM
I don't think they're that bad for the general public considering what I see these days, but if the recruiter said they might not like it then I bet he's got good info behind that statement. At least they both match. You can probably still become enlisted, and there's nothing wrong with that if you really want to be a Marine. Once you're in and you're on point they might overlook it. I guess the best case would be to go in enlisted and then see what happens. The worst case is if you can't hack it at boot camp and have to go back to being a system engineer for the rest of your life without ever holding the title. I hear the Marines are looking for a few good men?

cytokin
08-06-07, 09:49 PM
How much would a recruiter know about this though? Who would be the best person to talk to? Is there someone I could talk to that would make these kind of decisions? I currently serve in the Air National Guard and they are cool with the tattoos. I am pretty sure I can definately enlist with them. I currently have a wife and two children, officer pay would help get me back to what my current salary is.

Thanks for the reply!
Anthony