PDA

View Full Version : Law Program Questions

DeuceOfHearts
07-03-07, 11:43 PM
Hello,

On Sunday while working as range director on staff at a Boy Scout camp, I started talking to a regional recruitment XO and he got me interested in joining the marines.

I always had the thought in the back of my mind, but my parents threatened to disown me if I went through with my plans to seek an appointment to one of the academies... and then I got a mostly full-ride to a state school, so I went the path that seemed best at the time.

I'm majoring in political science and economics, and have been taking Arabic as well. I'm on 3-day break from camp staff over the fourth, so today I tracked down the area's OSO and drove all the way across town to meet him. We talked for about an hour and a half, and I started to shy away from asking $$$ questions, because I didn't want him to think that's what I want to become a Marine for.

But I also need to know some information so that I can plan financially.
I would be headed to PLC in Summer '09, and from there obtain a Law Degree, attend TBS after the Law Degree, and end up as a JAG.

From my understanding, after graduating PLC in 09, I would be commissioned as a 2ndLt (if I make it). I would then enter Reserve status while I am in Law School. During the summers I would be on active duty. After Law school, I would attend TBS as a 1stLt by that point.

So, here's what I would like to know:

What would be, or how can I figure, my approximate Reserve Pay?
My Active Pay would just be the normal Active Pay for the summer months, correct?
What financial aid is available for tuition/housing while attending Law School? Not just Marine Corps specific, but are there any resources available through the GI bill? I know that Army/AF/Navy says they'll pay all of it, but if I'm going, I'm going Marine.

Thanks for any answers.

Echo_Four_Bravo
07-04-07, 12:03 AM