PDA

View Full Version : 3381 food services question

combatcook
06-25-07, 05:41 PM
I was a cook for 4 years and deployed a couple of times. It was tons of fun and lots (LOTS) of hard work.

Anyway, my questions is, what is the food like in the Corps right now? I'm considering reenlisting after being out 10.

Do they still use the ol' m-2's and m-1957's? Do they still set up field mess's or do they use high speed tray-rat heaters? Somebody said they don't even work in messhalls stateside since the civies are doing all the work.

Anyway, how's the grub nowadays?

BR34
06-29-07, 07:21 PM
The chow usually sucks! And I've never seen a Marine behind the counter in a chow hall, only civilians...nasty, nasty civilians.

Flashgordon
06-30-07, 11:50 PM
Mesh, Lam yum!

iamcloudlander
07-01-07, 02:55 AM
The chow usually sucks! And I've never seen a Marine behind the counter in a chow hall, only civilians...nasty, nasty civilians.

What about bootcamp? does the lowest platoon in the series still have to pull mess duty and are there Marine cooks or the civilians also?

iamcloudlander
07-01-07, 03:00 AM
I was a cook for 4 years and deployed a couple of times. It was tons of fun and lots (LOTS) of hard work.

Anyway, my questions is, what is the food like in the Corps right now? I'm considering reenlisting after being out 10.

Do they still use the ol' m-2's and m-1957's? Do they still set up field mess's or do they use high speed tray-rat heaters? Somebody said they don't even work in messhalls stateside since the civies are doing all the work.

Anyway, how's the grub nowadays?