PDA

View Full Version : Give Military Death Benefits to Those Who Need It, When They Need It

thedrifter
06-07-07, 01:35 AM
06-03-2007

Give Military Death Benefits to Those Who Need It, When They Need It

By Matthew Dodd

Back on Feb. 21, 2007, I opened an article with the following observations:

“I am a firm believer in the adage, “Paperwork must reflect reality, and reality must conform to paperwork.”

I am not sure when I first heard or read that adage, but as a retired Marine officer, I do know that when paperwork and reality do not match, you have a problem. One common problem is when laws, orders, or directives are not reviewed and updated as needed. That problem may seem trivial, but if you are involved in a situation with outdated laws, orders, or directives, as either the enforcer or complier, the “trivial” problem can quickly become a frustrating or even an exasperating one.”

Well, I believe I have found another case of a paperwork-reality conflict that again affects military families and their children...

According to an Apr 25, 2007 DesMoinesRegister.com article and the May 21, 2007 Marine Corps Times, 29-year-old Navy reservist and corpsman Petty Officer (PO) 2nd Class Jaime Jaenke, a single mother assigned to Naval Mobile Construction Battalion 25 of Fort McCoy, Wis., died on June 5, 2006 when a roadside bomb exploded near her Humvee in Anbar Province, Iraq. She left behind a 9-year-old daughter, Kayla, and her parents, Susan and Larry Jaenke of Iowa Falls, Iowa.

In an unsent letter to her mother dated “2006 March,” PO Jaenke wrote:

“...I have got all my paperwork done and here is what I did. My big policy goes to Kayla. That has to be put away for when she gets 18. You will know what to do and how to handle it. There is a smaller policy that goes to you that is for 100,000. That is for you to raise Kayla with and 25,000 of that goes to the barn... I have put you down as the person to be the caretaker of Kayla...”