PDA

View Full Version : Dem funding delays killing troops?

thedrifter
05-12-07, 07:19 AM
Dem funding delays killing troops?
Posted By Uncle Jimbo

The Democrats have disgraced themselvs by turning the funding for our ongoing war into a game of political point-making. I hope they suffer for that come next election, but what about the effects this is having on our operations right now. I mean they wouldn't be doing it if it was actively harming the troops right now would they? I was reading Lorie Byrd's blog at Town Hall and she had a picture of a Mine Resistant Ambush Protected (MRAP) vehicle that absolutely saves lives. This reminded me that I got an email from a reader Karl about how the funding debacle is slowing the fielding of this very system.

It would be nice if we started calling these democrats out on the war spending bill and how it's going to be affecting life saving equipment. I am a machinist and am working on parts for the RG33's (I work for a subcontractor of a subcontractor here in central PA). We've been busting our butts to get these parts done on time, 12-15 hour days. I keep stressing to my co-workers how important it is to get these done - I'd hate to be one day late, having these trucks arrive a day late to the field because we were late with our parts and making a Soldier ride another day in something less protective instead of something that could have saved their lives. In that same line of thinking - how can these Democrats live with that thought? Below I've put together some current facts on that scenario...

Sincerely,
Karl B