PDA

View Full Version : Newbie/wannabe: about myself and a few questions

TrumpetCorp
04-23-07, 12:16 AM
Hey guys and gals! First time posting and I'm excited about the ball I just began to roll! First of all, I'd like to start off by thanking all you Marines for your time and service protecting and upholding the freedoms of this fine country. God bless all of you.

Here's a little about myself. I'm a freshman at a small university in Chicago, and I am currently majoring in Music Performance in Trumpet, and planning to add Physics as another major. Lately I've been yearning to serve my country more than economically, but being a freshmen in college I've been back and forth about what I want to do with my life. Somehow I keep coming back to wanting to serve. And it's coming to fruition that that's exactly what I should do.

I've thought about Marine bands and what not, but I need to serve more than that. So I've decided I want infantry, and thats partly why I'm planning to major in physics. I want to develope new futuristic defense/offensive equipment/weaponry for you guys. And infantry will help me find out what is needed for the front line.

For the past week I've been roaming this forum gathering info and trying to make decisions, so I've decided to go ahead and jump on in the pool and start asking questions.

I am currently in the process of working towards PLC this summer, I'm not sure if I'm too late or not, but I might as well push for it. If I'm late, I'm late. I'm filling out the rough app, and throwing around some emails with an OSO. I'm actually waiting on a reply so I can meet him before I leave for home (NH).

My problem is that I've been so busy with school, I've lost my physique I once had from years of club soccer. Right now I'm at 7 pullups, 90 crunches, and I don't even know what my run time is. But I'm working on it. I am 6', and 170lbs. Now that school is winding down (3 weeks left), I can overdrive my workouts.