PDA

View Full Version : III Marines in Okinawa

maysoon
02-13-07, 12:13 PM
Hello, I am majoring in Japanese at the University of Washington. I am wondering if there is a possiblity of gaining a commission as a second lieutenant as a translator with a B.A. in Japanese stationing in Okinawa, Japan with the III Marines.

I am wondering whether or not I would be in a place of disadvantage. One problem is that I am caucasian without a trace of Japanese blood. I wonder if this would mean that I would have to compete with the Japanese Americans, especially those born on their soil and naturalized as US citizens being more fluent in Japanese, and holding dual citizenship where there travel within Japan is much easier than for me. I wish to also know if there are any Nikkei Japanese Americans who served as US Marines in Okinawa, and how their experience was like? Were the locals there proud to see one of their descendents wearing our uniform as we are now allies?

Zulu 36
02-13-07, 02:54 PM
If I'm not mistaken, the Marine Corps will not likely take you strictly as a "translator" in any language if you are an unrestricted officer (i.e., normal commission as opposed to a limited duty officer commission). Only former enlisted Marines, who became warrant officers, can get LDO commissions.

I would suggest speaking with an officer selection officer near your university (if you can't find one in the yellow pages, a regular Marine recruiter can put you in contact with an OSO, but expect to be hit up to enlist instead).

You might be taken as an intelligence officer if you are otherwise qualified for that work, and get a Japanese language designator. But understand, you would still have to pass Officer Candidate School and The Basic School before getting to that point.

As far as service location, as has been said, Mother Green sends you where you are considered most needed. Even if you go to Japan/Okinawa as an initial tour, the Corps will not leave you rooted there.