PDA

View Full Version : Marines Aren't Soldiers Are They?

docsavage
11-15-06, 05:57 PM
although the media seems to think so.

I am not the republican loving lifer that most of the people that visit this site seem to be, but I am a USMC Vietnam Veteran (26th Marines - Khe Sahn Combat Base) and there is one thing that still boils my marine corps blood. And that is when the media suggests that marines and soldiers are one in the same.

Everytime I hear this I cringe. For example in the recent Newsweek review of Flags of the Father, the word marine was not even used. The reviewer noted it was the story of the soldiers that raised the flag at Iwo Jima. I wrote a letter to the editor, but it was not published and I did not hear from the piece's writer.

So what do you all think? I think that any marine worth his/her salt should be insulted when the term soldier is used synonomously in place of marine. Of course, what do I know, I am a liberal

10thzodiac
11-15-06, 07:10 PM

I am not the republican loving lifer that most of the people that visit this site seem to be, but I am a USMC Vietnam Veteran (26th Marines - Khe Sahn Combat Base) and there is one thing that still boils my marine corps blood. And that is when the media suggests that marines and soldiers are one in the same.

Everytime I hear this I cringe. For example in the recent Newsweek review of Flags of the Father, the word marine was not even used. The reviewer noted it was the story of the soldiers that raised the flag at Iwo Jima. I wrote a letter to the editor, but it was not published and I did not hear from the piece's writer.

So what do you all think? I think that any marine worth his/her salt should be insulted when the term soldier is used synonomously in place of marine. Of course, what do I know, I am a liberal

Marines are soldiers