PDA

View Full Version : Need Marine Guidance! In college, questioning PLC(non-enlisted) vs. active duty.

MotivatorJames
10-10-06, 01:52 AM
Marines, Former Marines, poolees, friends and family,

I am currently a junior at NC State University and for the past year have been in the process of applying for PLC through my local Officer Selection Officer (OSO). For the past year I have been training/doing PT with the NC State Univ. Alpha Co. Marine ROTC Unit to better my PT score. I frequently find myself in a dilemma with the whole PLC Program vs. Enlisting and going Active or Reservist. There are many reasons why I find myself questioning the program vs. enlisiting. I will try to explain in detail exactly how I feel so that those of you who are willing to give advice will understand how I feel.

Ever since I graduated highschool I have been absolutely crazy about joining the United States Marine Corps. Before graduation I was given the choice of joining the Marine Corps or going to NC State University. My parents and I decided that it would be best that I try college out first and then decide from there what I want to do. I have been doing very well in college so far, I have about a 3.2 GPA, which is good, but not that great. It was not until the fall of 2005, last fall, that I found out about the PLC Program through the MOI/AMOI of NC State University. Ever since then I have been training with the ROTC unit to better my PT score to make myself more competitive on the selection board. However, this past summer when I went to MEPS for a physical I found out that I was medically disqualified for an anal cist that I have, but with proper removal and follow up appointments can be granted a waiver. It will not be until 200612? when I can get the operation done and who knows how long it will take until the operation will heal.I will not be able to be put before the selection board until there are medical documents stating that my condition has healed. Also, this summer I di