PDA

View Full Version : I have an Idea How do I get it patented?

USMC7314FL
09-12-06, 03:43 PM
Ive had the idea for awhile, I would like someone to help me get in contact with someone who either wants to buy the idea and make it or help me mass produce and publicize it. it involves the helping keeping the sleeves tight:)
thanks to all, and a BIG Oorah!
Pvt Engle
^Njp's suck supposed to be a Lcpl oh well, live and learn:usmc:
feel free to email me at kenny_engle@yahoo.com

Dennis Kleitsch
09-13-06, 02:43 AM
Not to discourage you, but you need to read this first:

http://www.tinaja.com/patnt01.asp

My father has a patent, he had to assign it to the company he worked for. Not long afterwards, they laid him off.

As an electronics consultant I designed some new product for the company. It won a 'best of' award at a trade show. The company applied for a patent (against my wishes), and was promptly sued. Both companies ended up going broke from the costs involved.

I recently made the mistake of thinking up another good idea. I am bound by an intellectual property agreement for the current company I am working for. Even though it is not related in any way, shape, or form to what we do at work, they will not give me a release. They told me to submit it to their legal department, and that they would pay me $250 even if they decided not to go ahead with it.

Read Don's book, and make up your own mind.

Zulu 36
09-13-06, 07:02 AM
Patents provide roughly the same legal protections to an inventor as a copyright does for writers. Or at least in theory.

Most people who write or invent for their employers will not normally get the rights to those works. You're doing those things on the company dime and time, thus the patent/copyright rights belong to the company just the same as the profits for whatever you produce as a wrench turner on an assembly line.