PDA

View Full Version : and we're here again.....why?

DWG
08-05-06, 10:12 AM
This was the header on an e-mail I received from a young Sgt. in the 1 MEF in Iraq. Below it were pictures of the muslim "peace march" in London with the usual "freedom go to hell". "death to America","Europe your 911 is on the way". Same crap as always! I have been corresponding with this Marine, and a few others, for several months. We met through the Any.Marine.com program, which I highly recommend. He meant this as a joke but I started wondering how this kind of thing is starting to affect our troops. This guy seems to be a heads up, squared away and motivated Marine who plans on making a career out of the Corps. He is on his second (at least) deployment and plans on deploying back to Iraq after a six month rotation to the States. He doesn't complain (if you don't count no beer, no women and HOT!) and he feels he's making a difference in the war on terrorism. He isn't a fobbit and takes 12 to 20 hour days outside the wire in stride. He is a perfect example of the inspirational young men (and women) that make up the Corps today, and I am proud of every one of them. But how long can we expect these young Marines, and old ones, to maintain any kind of morale level when they see "peaceful" muslims in the west, the Cindy Sheehans at home, and more thousands of shi'ite in Baghdad screaming death to America (a perfectly wasted opportunity to dispose of a lot of old napalm, in my opinion). Add to this the compulsion to have to identify every actor in an ambush as a "card carrying" terrorist/insurgent on active duty with real intent to commit lethal harm as compared to a human shield and I foresee a lot of unnecessarily dead and injured Marines. I hate comparisons of this war with Viet Nam but the press, politicians and , unfortunately,the Marine Corps senior staff seem to be determined to create another war "won in the field and lost in Washington". War crimes were committed by the U.S. Gover