PDA

View Full Version : New to this

DeannaP
06-28-06, 11:22 AM
Hi
I'm new to this. Don't really know why I joined except that I have a deep admiration for the Marine Corps. Maybe I can make a few new friends too.

MillRatUSMC
06-28-06, 11:23 AM
Welcome Deanna

Camper51
06-28-06, 11:36 AM
Welcome aboard!!!

GySgtRet
06-28-06, 11:37 AM
Welcome Aboard...!!!

Marines can always use new friends...!!!!

DeannaP
06-28-06, 01:27 PM
Wow! I was amazed at such a quick response. Thank you for the warm welcome. Hopefully, I will be able to add some "enlightment" from a non military side from time to time. I have 2 questions. In Marine Corps ranks, what is the difference in MSgt and 1stSgt? And what does it mean when you hear one speak of being a commissioned or non commissioned officer?

quillhill
06-28-06, 01:42 PM
Welcome, DeannaP. Marines, as I've come to discover, are some of the best friends you could ever ask for.

Well, I was going to try and answer your question about ranks, but I'm thinking I can't do it with the type of accuracy it deserves. I think en.wikipedia.org is a great source for info on basic stuff like that (if you don't get an answer here....). You can do a search there on the US Marine Corps.

But, I'm sure you'll get all you need and more from the Marines here.

GySgtRet
06-28-06, 01:57 PM
Good question and I am a minute away from answering it for you.