PDA

View Full Version : Need some historical info, please

jonnyx
06-19-06, 04:59 PM
Hello,

First, I'd like to thank the military folks here for their service to our country, especially those who are currently on active duty - you have the support and prayers of your fellow Americans.

Now for my request:

I'm a part-time writer. I'm working on a fictional piece that's a bit outside my realm of expertise, and I want to get the details right.

The piece is a set in Cuba, mid-September of 1960. Castro has been in power for about 18 months, and US/Cuba relations have deteriorated rapidly as Cuba moves closer to Communism, signs aid treaties with the USSR, etc.

Without going into excessive detail, the piece involves a Force Recon operation on the southeast shore of Isla de Pinos ("The Isle of Pines"), which is an island ~60 miles south of mainland Cuba, across the Batabano Gulf, and roughly 100 miles from Havana.

I'm having difficulties tracking down period-specific details re: logistics, tactics, equipment, the precise Force Reconnaissance Company that would have been involved, etc. Is this the proper place to ask for some assistance with my research? I'd like to make the piece as technically accurate as possible, and I figured that Marine vets would be the best people to ask.

If there are objections to a request of this sort, please let me know where it would be more appropriate.

Thanks in advance,

--jX

marinegreen
06-19-06, 05:15 PM
Hello,

First, I'd like to thank the military folks here for their service to our country, especially those who are currently on active duty - you have the support and prayers of your fellow Americans.

Now for my request:

I'm a part-time writer. I'm working on a fictional piece that's a bit outside my realm of expertise, and I want to get the details right.