PDA

View Full Version : Just Got Orders To Go To Japan

AMARINELOVESME
06-14-06, 01:13 PM
Hello Everyone,
I just found out that my husband is going to Japan end of next month and his orders say that I can go with him. But I have a couple of questions... Sorry, I'm still new to the whole military way of life, so forgive me if i sound really dumb to it all... I guess there is a rather long waiting list for housing, up to a year, so what does that mean for us? If i wait to go over there for base housing do we get penalized for that? if we are still waiting for base housing does he get a room over there and bah?
~any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

mpwildes
06-14-06, 09:22 PM
Well first I would ask what his rank is? Second I have never seen th e housing list that long in Oki. The three years I was there (I left last year) All the Married Marines I knew to include myself moved right in. It could be different now or even base dependent. I know know they made a rule that which ever base you work is where you will live. There use to be a choice. BAH is changing overseas too so I do not know the rules on it anymore.

horselady
06-14-06, 11:31 PM
Omedetoh gozaimasu. That's congratulations in Japanese.

What a great assignment. I studied and worked in Japan
for 2 years and found the people to be very warm and friendly.

I used to be fairly fluent in Japanese, so if you want
any help with the language or customs, let me know.

AMARINELOVESME
06-15-06, 12:31 AM
mpwildes- he is an e-4, but we don't know which base exactly he is going to... he thinks that it might be going to mcas fatenma (i know that is spelled very wrong)since he is in the air wing.

horselady- thank you :) i am very excited, but do not really know anything about the language or the customs... so anything that you think would be of great importance will help a lot, especially since i don't have the wait time that i thought that i did.

have a great day! :)

mpwildes
06-15-06, 12:42 AM