PDA

View Full Version : Naval Academey

teufelhund912
06-12-06, 04:54 PM
Hello,

I am still a student in high school and want to continue my eduaction further on. I have always wanted to become a Marine and had a question about what the possibilities are.

What I can see is right now is that I could join the Marines first and then apply to the Naval Academy and go that way if I am accepted or apply there first, if I get accepted, and then join the Marines.

I would also like to know your guys opinions on this and any other ways there might be. And also how I might better my chances of getting accepted. Thanks for your time.

Sixguns
06-12-06, 08:50 PM
There are also opportunities for enlisted Marines to get a seat at Annapolis. MECEP and some other routes allow you to get your education after you enlist and are serving as a Marine.

Annapolis is a tough. Long process to get accepted. Tougher than getting NROTC scholarships. Do your research and find out if you are a top candidate for the academy before you decide.

cplbrooks
06-12-06, 10:47 PM
without a congressional appointment, 4.0 gpa and sports team experience forget Annapolis.

Sixguns
06-13-06, 08:26 AM
I was trying to be diplomatic about it! It is truly a hard slot to get.

dscusmc
06-13-06, 11:48 AM
Annapolis is tough to get into, but you can apply while you are enlisted. I applied when I was a corporal (I was medically disqualified because of my vision. The medical disqualification didn't make sense because I was a 2nd award expert rifleman at the time and I've since had LASIK to correct my vision to better than 20/20.) I didn't bother with a medical waiver, because I only had a year left on my enlistment contract and had other college opportunities.

You have to jump through hoops in the application process - so you want to start it early. I applied over 6 years ago, but I've still got my application.