PDA

View Full Version : Marines and Wives

redneck13
06-04-06, 02:48 PM
:flag: :banana: :thumbup: In my early career as a Marine, the traditional methodolgy, to coin a word, use of phrases that adore most "Salts" was; "IF THE CORPS WANTED YOU TO HAVE A WIFE, IT WOULD HAVE ISSUED YOU ONE!!"
This insidious, audacious phrase stuck with me during and after my tour in the Corps. It was my most inner being feelings towards my Marine Wife. Sort of like some identification of an animal.
I even used the infamous despictable phrase towards my very wonderful, loving, understanding, Wife. As a Marine Drill Instructor I used it often when recruit's told me about their wives troubles other. I firmly regret and apologize that I could be so caught up in the "Way's and Mean's" of the Corps' Treatment of wives.
Sure....we were Marines first, husband to our wives, Last. It was the (maybe still is) way the Corps was/is made of.
After my tenure in the Corps, sadly I continued with my demeanor which I held in my inner most being this "Ways and Means" that of a Marine and especially being a former Marine Corps Drill Instructor with and to my wife and children.
Then couple that with the adverse effects of a combat Marine, with what wasn't known then, now they know it as PTSD. My marriage was so close to failure yet somehow we made it for 38 yrs. till the end came in 2004. She divorced me.
I had forgotten my vows. Vows which mean more to me today then they did while being married. I broke every vow!! My ever so wonderful, kind, gentle, soft spoken, non opinionated wife, held onto to hers like a mouth to a flame, until she could no longer take abuse I gave, so close to her heart.
"HONOR, LOVE, CHERISH, OBEY", (equal in all ways and meaningful ways) "IN SICKNESS AND HEALTH, FOR RICHER OR POORER" until "DEATH" do you part, meant just exactly what she said when she said "I DO" at our wedding.