PDA

View Full Version : New Guy Needs Help

USMC8541
12-19-02, 01:44 PM
Hi I am new here and I need some advise, I work in law enforcement with a guy who I know deserted the Marine Reserves right after Desert storm. I would like to let the Chief Know but I have no proof...

mardet65
12-19-02, 02:24 PM
USMC8541:
Seeing that you asked. I'd tell the loudmouth what I think of him and forget about it! However, If you can't live with that- and I understand why you might not be able to- most police departments have a rules and procedures manual which includes "Conduct Unbecoming an Officer". Having spent 30 + years in law enforcement, I believe this would apply to this guy and a meeting between you, him and the Chief might be advisable. If as you say, he's bragging about ducking the corp, you can ask him about it in front of your Chief without making any accusations.

Super Dave
12-19-02, 02:56 PM
It's surprising that the department didn't find out he was a deserter in their background check. Notify Internal Affairs about it, a anonymous note or call to them. Let them run with the ball.

USMC8541
12-19-02, 03:27 PM
mardet you are right we cannot cause any grief to another officer as per Policy and Proceedure <br />
We have no internal affairs we are a small dept. Thats why I would like to try to find a document like...

Sgt0811
12-19-02, 03:52 PM
Marine Corps Absentee Collection Center 703-614-2095 or 2674

Deserter Information Point 703-614-3248 or 3376

If you would rather someone else do this send me a PM

I am a retired Police Officer and have captured a few deserters.

chicagousmc
12-19-02, 08:01 PM
Deserted the Marine Reserves? Was in an active duty status or just didn't finish out his reserve committment and probably received a discharge? The reason I ask is that I know of many Marines,, if...

USMC8541
12-20-02, 12:07 AM