PDA

View Full Version : General's top priority: troops at bottom

thedrifter
12-11-02, 10:33 PM
recalls life as a private; it helps him make decisions

By Chris Tomlinson Associated Press
December 11, 2002

CAMP AS SAYLIYAH, Qatar - When Gen. Tommy Franks heard a newly assigned Navy petty officer was a bit nervous about sitting next to him at breakfast, he took matters into his own hands.

He gave her a playful hug when he walked up and pulled out her chair as she sat down.

Franks, the four-star general who would run the war against Iraq if the White House orders military action, knows what it's like to be uneasy in the presence of high rank: He entered the Army in 1967 as a private.

With that background, Franks says he likes to frame every decision, evaluate every piece of equipment and judge the success of every operation in terms of the individual soldier, sailor, Marine or airman.

"I remember when I was a private soldier. I remember how I felt, I remember where I went. I remember days when I was well taken care of and days when I was not well taken care of," Franks said in an exclusive interview with The Associated Press. He agreed to meet AP only if some of his troops were included.

Franks, 57, and the men and women who make up the battle planners for the U.S. Central Command have been the focus of attention since they deployed to Qatar this month for a command

exercise widely seen as a rehearsal for a war against Iraq.

High-tech practice

Speaking in a drawl that betrays his roots in Midland, Texas, Franks said the exercise is important not just because of Iraq, but because it allows his troops to practice using the $58 million portable headquarters set up on the edge of the Qatari desert.

Franks chuckled when asked how the technology was different from that used in the 1991 Gulf War, when he was an assistant commander of the 1st Calvary Division: "A lot."