PDA

View Full Version : Grade ‘A’ Marine from Springfield excels with ‘B’ billet

thedrifter
03-13-06, 08:52 AM
Grade ‘A’ Marine from Springfield excels with ‘B’ billet
II Marine Expeditionary Force
Story by Sgt. Tracee L. Jackson

MARINE CORPS BASE CAMP LEJEUNE, N.C.-- (March 13, 2006) -- Gunnery Sgt. Jeff A. Nau was promoted to his present rank March 1 after 16 years of service in the Marine Corps. His promotion is a benchmark of a successful career path in one of the nation’s most elite organizations.

Nau, who is a supply Marine by trade, currently serves as a prior-service recruiter based in the II Marine Expeditionary Force headquarters building, belongs to the 4th Marine Corps District, out of New Cumberland, Pa. His job is to reach out to Marines who separated from the Marine Corps only to regret it later.

“There are three types of recruiters. There’s the store-front recruiters, who pick up all the high school kids and brand new people to go to boot camp. There are transitional recruiters who look at people getting off active duty and transitioning, and then there are prior-service recruiters, who recruit people who are in the (Individual Ready Reserves), off contract, or out of the Marine Corps,” said Nau, demonstrating his target audience provides different challenges than others in his field.

Nau, who served as an active reservist and later switched to full active duty, reported his prospective recruits already have a solid idea of what they want from the Corps on their second time around and are more specific when signing the contract again. For instance, “Some individuals don’t want to deploy, and some don’t want to go back into their original (Military Occupational Specialty),” said Nau.