PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here so please don't hurt me!

Josephine
03-11-06, 11:38 PM
Right, now I have your attention. You may gather that I am a brit by now, yes I served within the Royal Navy but our RMs do not allow females in.

So my question is, what is the most common job as a female USMC, what trades are you allowed into and not allowed in to?

Are your fitness tests different to the males?

I find this interesting and to be honest I know jack about the female side of the USMCs! Can you tell :p

Big hi to you all'!

Lorix
03-12-06, 06:03 PM
I'm a female Marine. Most of the mos field's female are in is supply and admin. I'm a field radio operator myself. All mos field's are open to females except combat. I believe all aviation mos's accept women. I'm really short on time.... The only difference is we have to do the flex arm hang, not pull ups, we still have to do crunches, and run 3 miles for time, although we are allowed 3 minutes extention from the male's time, but I've seen women run it in under 17 minutes.

MillRatUSMC
03-12-06, 06:55 PM
First let me extent a Hardy Welcome to Josephine from Great Britain.
I let the ladies of this message board answer your question.
I think Lorix about cover it all, only thing that I might add,
There Women Marines now in Afghanistan and Iraq that go out with patrols in case there's women that need searching.
Here a link to Women marines Association
http://www.womenmarines.org/

Josephine
03-13-06, 06:51 AM
Thanks for the welcome and info!

Just amazes me that there is not much talk on females serving as USMC's and I find it interesting.

I know when I was RN and serving on ship, it was hard at times. The old and bold naval members would always lay into you about females being on bored, but you most probably get my drift lol

I can see why females do not serve with in the RMs, its not an easy course, that I know lol

Cheers!

Lorix
03-15-06, 01:10 PM