PDA

View Full Version : Farrell recalls time at sea ... and on land

thedrifter
03-06-06, 09:45 AM
Farrell recalls time at sea ... and on land

By JOSIE McCORMICK
Staff Writer

COSHOCTON — When Dave Farrell graduated from Coshocton High School in 1981, he knew college wasn’t the next step for him. So he chose the U.S. Navy.

“I didn’t want to stay here after I graduated, so I signed up for four years,” he said.

Farrell’s family has a tradition of being sailors. His father served during the Korean War and a brother served during Vietnam and re-enlisted later.

“My dad never really talked about it and my brother served when I was still in school,” Farrell said. “I wrote to him and he’d send me stuff from places he went. I thought it was neat to get to see these different places and see what it was like there.”

Farrell and his brother actually served together in Florida at one point in time.

“We got to hang out together a little bit and that made it nice,” he said. “I’m sure it took a toll on our parents though.”

Farrell’s time in Beirut, Lebanon, probably worried them the most. He was there in 1983 when a Marine barracks was blown up. The catastrophe took the lives of 262 Marines and one sailor, who was a chief petty officer on Farrell’s ship.

“The whole time we were over there, right on the edge of things, we were so confident,” he said. “The military attitude at the time was that we were strong and invincible.”

The explosion at the barracks, however, changed their thoughts a little bit.

“It sunk in how vulnerable we were,” Farrell said. “We thought we were made of steel and no one could hurt us. It was a reality check, but it made us more angry than anything.”

The sailors had a wake-up call, but they still knew they had a job to do.

“I never once went to sleep fearing I wouldn’t wake up,” Farrell said. “We were there to for one purpose — to keep peace and we’d kick the butt of those not wanting us to do that.”