PDA

View Full Version : Cracking the Eggheads

thedrifter
02-06-06, 07:46 AM
Cracking the Eggheads
Written by Burt Prelutsky
Monday, February 06, 2006

There is currently a brouhaha brewing here in Los Angeles. On one side are the highly educated academicians at UCLA, while on the other side are all the really smart people.

It seems that a young UCLA alum named Andrew Jones came up with the nifty notion of getting students to tape their professors’ lectures. He figured that was the one sure way to discover whether or not the pedants are really just a bunch of leftist windbags using their lecterns as soap boxes, indoctrinating rather than instructing.

Now you might think that the instructors would delight in the fact that their lectures would now be broadcast far and wide. As a writer, I know I appreciate it when a reader lets me know that he’s shared one of my essays with his friends and relatives. So, how is it that all these academics are screaming about censorship and a return to McCarthyism? Have they no idea how stupid they sound? It’s censorship when the government deprives you of free speech, not when your words are given wider dissemination. As for Joe McCarthy, he tried to get professors fired for their political beliefs; young Mr. Jones, who isn’t even a dog catcher, let alone a U.S. senator, hasn’t demanded that anyone be dismissed. He just thinks it would be a good idea if parents were aware of what’s in store for their kids before sending them off to spend four expensive years at my alma mater.

If there’s anything that professors, no matter what their political persuasion might be, should be riled up about, it’s the notion of publish-or-perish. The idea that these people should be cranking out books and articles in order to prove their worth in the marketplace is just plain cockeyed.