PDA

View Full Version : Marine from Algonac, Mich., finds new home in the Corps

thedrifter
12-16-05, 10:11 AM
Marine from Algonac, Mich., finds new home in the Corps
II Marine Expeditionary Force
Story by Sgt. Tracee L. Jackson

MARINE CORPS BASE CAMP LEJEUNE, N.C.-- (Dec. 16, 2005) -- When Nicholas A. Grafton, a native of Algonac, Mich., left for Marine Corps recruit training in Parris Island, S.C., he had never crossed outside his state lines, much less been on an airplane. Today, the 22 year-old corporal of United States Marines boasts of his world travels, newfound sense of purpose, and plans for the future.

Living happily inside the same state borders didn’t stop Grafton from wanting to see what was out there. In fact, it showed him a few things about himself he may not have found otherwise.

“I learned that I’m not good at being tied down,” he said, recounting his high school days, where he switched the sport he played every year just to kick up dust and avoid routine. “I didn’t do too well in high school,” he admitted, “I was the one in the back left corner, asleep at my desk.”

“I tried going to college for a semester, but that didn’t work out too well. I did some cooking and construction. I worked with cement and I did a lot of warehouse-type work,” he smiled and proudly continued to name a laundry list of factory jobs he experienced. “I just got bored with one thing.”

Grafton knew he could be successful if he found a cause he could stick with, or at least that would stick to him. That’s when the idea of joining the Marine Corps became a possibility.

“It’s not really ironic,” he insists, when asked why a self-proclaimed free spirit would join such a structured organization, “I can follow rules. I just don’t like monotony.”

“I had a friend who went in the Corps, and I had talked to him after he had been through boot camp and made it to the fleet. He said it was good to go.”