PDA

View Full Version : Things the '60s got right

thedrifter
11-26-05, 07:15 AM
Things the '60s got right
DAVID GELERNTER

A GENERATION HAS passed since I went to college. Today's college students understand that things have changed in many ways — some good, some not. But one change is glaring and tragic. The change I mean is that nowadays so many students are obsessed with their careers. (This is strictly my own personal observation — as a college teacher of long-standing, and of declining optimism.)

It seems to me that when I was an undergraduate, students were far more obnoxious than they are today. Many of us were positive we were smarter than our teachers and naturally gifted with superior taste. But there was a good side (believe it or not) to our arrogant self-assurance. Many of us waded right into intellectual life until we were in way over our heads. Many of us were obsessed with books, poems, music, arguments, theories, paintings and politics, history and philosophy, truth and beauty. Virtually no one cared about "careers" except for the despised pre-meds. (And didn't they have the last laugh!)

Why the big change between now and then? Many reasons. But there's one particular reason that students seem reluctant (some even scared) to talk or think about. In those long-ago days, more college women used to plan on staying home to rear children. Those women had other goals than careers in mind, by definition. They saw learning as worth having for its own sake; otherwise why bother with a college education, if you weren't planning on a big-deal career? (There were social reasons, of course — such as finding a husband. But social reasons don't explain why so many of those students who planned on being mothers rather than CEOs took hard courses, did well and wound up at the top of their classes.)