PDA

View Full Version : New York veteran fights for freedom, second time around

thedrifter
08-17-05, 07:13 PM
New York veteran fights for freedom, second time around
2nd Marine Division
Story by Cpl. Mike Escobar

FALLUJAH, Iraq (August 17, 2005) -- The events of September 11, 2001, brought former Marine, Cpl. Brandon Connelly, back into the Corps to serve in Operation Iraqi Freedom.

Twenty-eight-year-old Connelly, originally a native of Toms River, N.J., was living in New York City at the time of the tragedy. Like everyone around him, he recalls being shocked and angry as the day's events unfolded. But unlike many of his fellow New Yorkers, this 1995 Toms River High School North graduate did not wave a flag or sport a bumper sticker to express his solidarity and patriotism. Rather, the former Marine combat engineer would give up the comforts of home for a lifestyle he had long left behind.

"I was a personal trainer at a Crunch Fitness gym (in East Village)," he explained. "I loved working in that kind of environment, helping people train for marathons and showing them the proper way to work out. I was making a pretty good living, too. On my worst year as a trainer, I'd still make about $70,000."

The terrorist attacks on his home city forced him to re-evaluate his career path. Three years to the month after the fall of the Twin Towers, Connelly swapped out his gym shorts for the camouflage green he had not worn since leaving the Corps in 1999.

"I came back in because I was inspired by what was going on in Iraq, and I felt that our country had made the right move," he stated. "I had some reservations about doing it, because I'd never really cared much for the Marine lifestyle. I thought four years had been enough for me."

This time around, however, Connelly would trade his wire and engineer stakes for a grenade launcher mounted underneath a service rifle. Connelly had returned to the Marines as an infantryman, and he was seeking a piece of the action.