PDA

View Full Version : A thank-you note from a U.S. Marine:

thedrifter
07-03-05, 05:06 AM
Los Angeles Daily News
EAFB Marine offers his thanks
Saturday, July 02, 2005
A thank-you note from a U.S. Marine:

While in the midst of an Iraqi deployment, it is a luxury to have some time to reflect. Many Marines and soldiers are currently more directly engaged in the war on terrorism here and aren't afforded this luxury.

I am a helicopter pilot who finds himself on a more secure American base, not as immediately concerned with having to protect our squadron or our fellow Marines on a daily basis.

Therefore, this thank-you note comes from all of us, many of whom aren't afforded the time to ponder the amount of support we have received and continue to receive from the Americans we represent.

I have been very fortunate. Here in the middle of this oftentimes windy, dusty and oppressively hot country, my family, friends and even total strangers have been very thoughtful and have sent me so many things from home that let me know that I am loved.

Packages stuffed with trail mix, home-baked cookies, books, newspapers, magazines and, yes, even baby wipes brighten up even the longest of days.

The thoughtfulness is overwhelming and I have been deeply touched by the prayers, kind thoughts and support that I have received during my time here. There always seems to be a thank-you note of some sort at the bottom of each box I open.

But it doesn't stop there. The love and support is also evident in the media. Although the media's reports are as mixed as the varied opinions that all Americans hold in regards to why we are here in Iraq, the overriding theme I have sensed is one of support.