View Full Version : Picturing Vietnam

thedrifter
06-25-05, 09:13 AM
PICTURING VIETNAM
By FRED C. GARDNER

UNDER FIRE: Great Photographs and Writers in Vietnam
Edited by Catherine Leroy with a foreward by Sen. John McCain
Random House, 192 pages, $35
HOW do you return to a place you hoped to never see again and yet never really left? Why would you want to make this visit? As a Vietnam veteran, I have struggled with my feelings on that place and that war for many years.

A new photo essay titled "Under Fire" gave me the opportunity to return to Vietnam, a country I left almost 38 years ago. I was a U.S. Navy corpsman with the First Marine Division in Chu Lai, Vietnam, and saw combat with the Marines, made a patrol aboard a Swiftboat and, for a short time, was attached to the 2nd ROK Marine Brigade from Korea.

For many years, I left all those memories safely tucked away while I went about the business of living my life, gaining an education, raising a family and establishing my career in the business world.

Now, through this book of graphic and gripping photographs and essays, Vietnam has beckoned me again. "Under Fire" includes very little editorializing, while the photos evoke whatever interpretation the reader assigns. But while basically unedited, there is a political element to these photos, especially in the essays written by the photographers whose works are used.

Overall, the authors feel the U.S. was wrong to be in Vietnam but, refreshingly, do not blame the troops. The blame, or rather the responsibility, is placed right where it belongs: squarely on the shoulders of the politicians whose decisions and egos got us into one of the longest wars of our history. Then walked away from their responsibilities and never looked back.