PDA

View Full Version : Marine's notes to P-I reporter end with tragic postscript

thedrifter
06-01-05, 08:19 AM
Wednesday, June 1, 2005

Marine's notes to P-I reporter end with tragic postscript

By MIKE BARBER
SEATTLE POST-INTELLIGENCER REPORTER

Each time I talk to the families of the latest casualties of the Iraq war, I can't help but summon shades from my past.

I made peace with them a long time ago but they still emanate from my own experiences with the military, from the Army by birth, to the Marine Corps by choice -- and from the faces of three schoolmates lined up across a page of my high school yearbook:

Marine Pfcs. Barry L. Eichelberger, Ronald C. Conley and Terry L. Taylor. Each died in Vietnam within weeks of one another one horrible spring in 1969. The drumbeat of their loss devastated the small high school in Pennsylvania's agricultural country from which I graduated.

This week I'll add another name and photo of someone I knew to the page: Marine Cpl. Jeff Starr of Snohomish.

He was killed in Iraq on Memorial Day. A Pentagon news release of his death late yesterday said he died from small-arms fire while in combat against enemy forces near Ar Ramadi, Iraq.

Jeff celebrated his 22nd birthday there on May 25. He was most upbeat about coming home for good in three weeks, and leaving the Marine Corps in August to go to college. He joined the Marines on Aug. 19, 2001, three weeks before Sept. 11 changed the world, and was due to get out this August.

He is the sixth member of the armed forces with strong ties to this state to die in Iraq in May.

Five Fort Lewis soldiers died in May from wounds received in Iraq:

Spc. Phillip Sayles, 26, of Jacksonville, Ark., was killed May 28. First Lt. Aaron N. Seesan, 25, Massillon, Ohio; Spc. Tyler L. Creamean, 21, also of Jacksonville, Ark.; and Sgt. Benjamin C. Morton, 24, of Wright, Kan., were killed May 22. First Sgt. Michael Bordelon, 37, of St. Mary's Parish, La., died May 10 of wounds suffered April 23.